The Two Finger Guitarist: Notebook page 1.

Faced with the prospect of a long and painful recovery for my broken left hand ring finger, I’ve decided to incorporate new (for me) two and three finger approaches into my overall technique. When I eventually recover my long standing four finger technique, I’ll also retain the new things I’m systematically learning and developing. Truthfully, it opens up new expressive possibilities even though the learning curve is daunting. I’ve actually wanted to do this for a long time considering the guitar stylings of many players including George Benson, Jimi Hendrix, and Roy Buchanan among many others. Of course, Django Reinhardt is the direct inspiration and this study is dedicated to him, his music, and his spirit. I hope to be ready for some jam sessions in about a month with some of these new approaches. Here’s the first page from my THE TWO FINGER GUITARIST notebook: diminished patterns over dominant seventh chords. I’ll also reactivate my long neglected cristianamigo.com site if you want to follow this study. It can pay off for you four finger or physically challenged guitarist types.
TFG_p1
About Cristian Amigo

post-bop blues guitarist/composer/producer/educator
This entry was posted in BLOG: CRISTIANAMIGO.COM. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

